The Fabyan Villa was the home of Colonel George and Nelle Fabyan from 1905-1939. Initially a country retreat from their home in Chicago, the Fabyans hired Frank Lloyd Wright in 1907 to enlarge and re-model the existing farmhouse. They took up permanent residence there shortly thereafter and called the house "The Villa." They acquired 300 acres, creating a country estate which soon became a lavish showplace complete with fountains, gardens, a Roman-style swimming pool, a Dutch-style windmill, a private zoo, a working lighthouse, a boathouse, tennis courts, and more. The Fabyans pursued their varied interests on their estate, including horticulture, animal husbandry, code-breaking and scientific research.
Join APT WGLC for a special tour of the Villa and learn about Wright's unique role in the design of the house!